ilovemathsgames

Just another WordPress.com site

Up to a C grade revision passport

on March 15, 2016

Hi again,

It occurred to me that it might be sensible to actually talk properly about these, rather than mentioning them offhand in the middle of my ramblings (last post).

I have built on the old APP booklets, and combined them with a passport idea that I’d started last year, and that Miss B of Missbsresources.com has done recently.

The result is a ‘passport’ that covers E up to C grade topics, with a link and QR code (mostly to CorbettMaths) for a video teaching each topic, as well as a link and QR code to a booklet of GCSE questions about that topic for practice.    There is also an exam question for each skill, which will allow students to demonstrate their understanding of the skill so that it can be stamped as complete.  HegartyMaths.com (the new one) is also referenced, as it is free for students.  

I’m happy to bribe my students, so the one with the most stamps will get top prize (I may even make that 20 quid in vouchers!) etc….

The result is that I’m using them in class at the moment to begin the revision process, and have already ‘stamped off’ topics they’ve completed on the new hegartymaths.com, or have got full marks on in the mock, or have shown me they can do in class.  This means that none of them have the excuse of ‘not knowing where to start or what to do’ when revising, and I can keep a really close eye on what revision they are doing in the final few weeks before their exams.   They are actually really keen to get new stamps, and are able to work independently on topics they actually NEED, whether in class, at home, or in intervention time.

Once I’ve created a spreadsheet to record which topics have been stamped off for which students, I’ll add it here too.   The booklets should print perfectly well as A5, although I’ve gone with A4.

It will allow me to plan mini-lessons within class time, while anyone with that topic already completed can work independently either in their books, on their own iPads, or on our dept chromebooks (using the QR or shortlinks hopefully!).  It also means I should have more time to spend with individual students – I’m lucky to have a class of 16 – on topics they need one-to-one time on.

I hope you find them useful, since by next year they’ll be defunct, so please make the most of them so that all the hours spent making them have been worthwhile!!!! 🙂

Revision_passport_up_to_C  << download here

Less than 8 weeks to go!!!!!   :O

 

Leave a Reply

