ilovemathsgames

Just another WordPress.com site

Whose stupid idea was this….?

on May 17, 2014

So a while ago it seemed like a good idea to take the AS papers along with the students and another colleague.  

‘A bit of friendly competition’ we said, and offered bragging rights to the person with the highest score.  

Well now my C1 exam is in a couple of days, and I am yet to get 100% on a past paper.   I keep making really stupid mistakes (like forgetting to find the y intercept on a graph as well as the x intercepts, or reading > as < ).  

There is a real danger that I (the teacher and HoD) may be beaten by either a student or a colleague (never taught A-level).

This is bad.  

I will then only have 3 days to prepare for Core 2.  Along with getting Y11 ready for exams, teaching, and managing a currently somewhat dysfunctional department.  

This is really bad.

4 responses to “Whose stupid idea was this….?

  1. James says:

    The AS modules should be easy enough to do in 45 mins or so, which gives you lots of time to check your answers. I’d be much more worried if it was A2 Further Maths!

    • that’s about right – I just did a C2 paper in an hour and got full marks, so (having completed my victory dance round the room), I now feel better.
      Knowing me, I shall just end up doing each question in C1 twice just to be sure!!

  2. Surya Tahir says:

    At first read, I thought you meant doing a practice C1 test as teachers versus the students. That’s a great revision idea. Would love to see your victory dance around the exam hall!

Leave a Reply

