ilovemathsgames

Just another WordPress.com site

AfL and learning log for Y7 (and other exciting stuff)

on July 10, 2012

*edit – if you downloaded a copy of the Yr 8 learning log before Monday at 10.30 ish, then you have the old version that was a bit squiffy, due to a lack of saving correctly (AKA Friday-itis)…. Please re-download! *

Hi all,

I’ve been everso jolly busy lately making shiny new things for next year, so I thought I’d take some time to share some of them with you.

First of all, recent exciting things in my classroom have been:

SOLO – the kids love it, other teachers seem pretty interested too, and my next project is to write a whole load of SOLO rubrics for each topic.  I’m using it to differentiate the work too, based on the students’ self-assessment at the start of the lesson, using the rubrics.  They have really taken to this (although it’s tripled my planning!)

iPad – I LOVE my iPad!!  I use it to display good examples of work from students, by taking pictures on it, then displaying them on the board using my VGA connector.  It’s also great for keeping me on top of all my tasks – I use ‘Things’ which is a paid app, but worth it.  There’s nothing like the satisfaction of ticking things off your to-do list!   It’s my own, as only very very important people have one from my school at the moment.

VideoScribe – I found this app (also available on desktop) that lets you make AMAZING looking videos of stuff – see my Twitter as CPD post for an example.

Popplet – again, an app that’s also online.  It lets you mind-map stuff, so I’m using it to keep all the content of my Yr 12 course so they can access all the materials ahead of time.  You can embed your youTube videos into it, as well as pictures, text and useful links.  And it’s pretty.

Loci – I pinched a great lesson from my ex-HoD where you give the students a bunch of post-its, and ask them to stick them on their desks to a given rule (eg – at least 15cm from the edge, equidistant from the front edge and back edge etc.)  I also used bits of string and students to demonstrate how loci change when you change the tether point.  One student = circle.  Two students standing together, passing the string along so one end is touching their body = oval etc)  It was lots of fun 🙂

The boring bit for me (although I’m pleased with the final product!) was making/adapting a new AfL booklet for our students.  Previously, they had a booklet that stayed at school, which contained questions for each level, and a level ladder to self-assess with.   Now it only has the questions.

I have  blatantly stolen borrowed an idea from Swavesey Village College – the Learning Log.  This goes home with students like their planner does, and has on the front a timetable of what they do when (I’ve left ours as a half-termly schedule for flexibility) and the details for all the sites we use like mymaths and mangahigh.  Inside is some info, and then for each topic, the level ladder where they can self-assess, and can record whether they got the matching question right from their AfL booklet once it’s marked.  The level descriptors match the questions in the AfL booklet for ease.   It has a half-termly space for reflection on strengths and weaknesses, both for student and teacher to fill in, along with a look at how they are progressing against their levels.   At the back is a blank h/w grid for each week of the school year, where they can fill in their homework, and it can be signed off by teachers for quick reference.

I thought since I’d put so much time into this, that it was sensible to share so that the rest of you don’t have to do the same.

Year 7 Learning Log

Year 7 AfL Booklet

 

Year 8 AfL Booklet

Year 8 Learning Log

 

Year 9 Learning Log

 

Feel free to pinch whatever you like from it 🙂

Emily

(NEARLY THE HOLIDAYS!!!!!! HOORAY!!!!)

6 responses to “AfL and learning log for Y7 (and other exciting stuff)

  1. Ceejaypee says:

    Amazing Stuff as always: if you are looking at Loci and constructions, give my carousel a go on TES…find under my user name ceejaypee!

  2. Pam Hook says:

    Thanks for posting this update Emily and for all the resources you share – if you and your students are looking at learning outcomes through SOLO levels – it makes sense to integrate the SOLO levels for functioning knowledge into the learning log – your emoticons could easily be replaced with SOLO symbols – MS R and EA
    M- I can do it but am not sure abt why and when – make mistakes – cannot self correct
    R – I can do it – know why and when – competent – can self correct if shown work
    EA – make generalisations – extend to real life contexts – seek feedback on how to improve etc
    Regards Pam

    • I completely agree, and hopefully I’ll be able to integrate that next year, but as I’m still quite new to SOLO, I’ve got a couple of people interested, but not converted yet!
      I’m leaving my current school (who these are for) and starting as HoD elsewhere in Sept, so will be looking at integrating SOLO into SoW etc in new school. I want to lead by example though, rather than just shoving it down their throats, so it will be a while until we are comfortable enough as a whole dept to make it an integral part of what we do.
      It’s definitely a work in progress 😉

  3. srcav says:

    Thanks for these, they are great.

  4. daveadamson says:

    Hi, I was just wondering how highly do you rate ‘Things’ for the iPad? I have just got promoted (quite nervous about it) and feel I need to be super organised. I have downloaded ‘Errands’ for free but I’m not sure it’s all that.

    Thanks
    Dave

    • I liked it a lot, but have recently found ‘iprocrastinate’, which is much cheaper, and does the same thing.
      I’m using the mac version though – there is no ipad version, just an iphone version (although it works on the iPad). It syncs across devices too. Things is good, if you’re willing to spend the money.
      I know exactly how you feel! I relied heavily on it to start with, as well as creating an ongoing set of lists ‘to do’ over the weekends in my planner (got it late at start of term, so had enough pages left to include one per weekend. Found that good too.
      You’ll be fine – you soon settle into routines that mean stuff gets done 🙂
      Good luck!
      Emily

Leave a Reply

