ilovemathsgames

Just another WordPress.com site

Sharing good practice

on May 2, 2012

As an experiment, I am going to see if I can get my department to share more.

Don’t get me wrong, we are quite good at sharing, but at the moment, it’s mostly just in our own little circles of friends. We stop to chat in the maths office, and talk about things we’ve done that worked, or useful resources we’ve found. What we don’t do is share as a whole department. There simply isn’t time in our busy meetings to discuss everything we want to, and no-one wants to create new meetings to do it!

My thoughts on this are as follows:

– it’s really useful to share. It saves us all reinventing the wheel.

– Everyone has a little time somewhere in their week to jot down a couple of ideas or upload a file, but with any department, there is never a good time for everyone.

– an online space where we can collect all our good ideas etc would help us keep track of it all, and enable everyone to join in at whatever time suits them best.

– if successful, the experiment could then be shared as good practice with other departments, and we could start working more collaboratively as a whole school.

With all this in mind, I set out in search of a suitable site to use. Pinterest looked like a possibility, but it seemed a bit public for now. Perhaps in future we could move over, but there are members of the dept who would not be keen on the idea that anything they say could be seen by anyone. I’m more likely to get them on board if it’s private.
I looked at various reviews etc, and decided to give wikispaces a go.
It is simple to set up, although not the prettiest, and I’ve created pages for each year group very quickly with it.
I’ve sent an invite to my HoD to see what he thinks, and if he likes it, I shall reel in selected members of the dept to get a bit of content on there, so I can show everyone at the next meeting how useful it could prove. I shall also be singing the praises of twitter for CPD and PLN’s!

I’ll keep you posted… 🙂

Leave a Reply

